6 Replies Latest reply on Dec 3, 2007 11:39 AM by influxxmedia

Action Script 2 Sub Menus

Humbick
      Hi all,

Thanks in advance for your time and help. I am new to Flash, following a great tutorial, but I have run into a big, but hopefully easy to solve, roadblock which prevents me from putting the components of my site together. Here is my issue:

I have created a .swf for a website, which you can find here: http://humflash.awardspace.com/ww_main2.html

The menubar (with its rollover submenus) is in a video clip symbol nested in Scene 1 canvas, with buttons nested in the video clip. Then I have content for, lets say, the "History" sub-menu of the "Company" category, which I also created in an .swf file. I want to load this into the main window as well when you click the history button. I have done this with everything in the same canvas successfully, but because the menubar is in its own movie clip (and its particularly the sub menu Im having difficulty in finding where to place the script), and the movie is its own .swf with pre-loader (which I have ready but am not sure where to put, I beleive on the button's actionscript), it is all very confusing. The script that I wish to post is as follows (attached):

Please, help would be extremely appreciated, Im unable to figure anything out.

If there is a way that I can better explain this or show this, please let me know. I have just spent over two hours non-stop going back and forth with scripts trying to figure it out. Thanks for your time and guidance!

Humbick
        • 1. Re: Action Script 2 Sub Menus
          Humbick Level 1
          Sorry I have to bump this. Its very important to me.

To make it simpler:

What type of code do I need to activate a .swf within the file in a container, by hitting a submenu which inside a different movieclip container.

http://humflash.awardspace.com/ww_main2.html

Thank you for your time.

Humbick
          • 2. Re: Action Script 2 Sub Menus
            influxxmedia