8 Replies Latest reply on Feb 13, 2014 12:13 PM by Trevor.Dennis

What was the first version of Photoshop to support multicore?

Suicide Level 1

Hi, I've been a designer for 15 years but just going into business myself now and looking to buy an old version of Photoshop until I have the finances for something more modern.

I don't have any money so I would really like to buy the oldest version I can (I will never subscribe to CC as I do not believe in subscribing to software, I find that highly objectionable).

So I want the oldest version of Photoshop I can get. I might even go back as far as something like Photoshop 4. I don't need lots of features as I tend to do everything manually as I learnt to do it long before layer styles came in etc. However, I don't want to compromise on performance, hence my question. I have an Intel Quad Core i7 machine running 64bit windows. I'm not an expert on hardware so wonder if anyone could advise me on the earliest version of Photoshop that would be able to make full use of my hardware? I remember multicore was only supported by Photoshop about 8 years ago but I can't remember which version it was!

• 1. Re: What was the first version of Photoshop to support multicore?
          Noel Carboni Level 8

You seem to be expressing a combination of conflicting goals. You want "full use of your hardware" but you're looking for an application from the ancient age of computing.

You seem to have enough money to pay for a computer and internet access, and I'll wager you have a cell phone.  Yet you think $9.95 a month for state of the art software and immediate delivery of all ongoing updates is unacceptable.  Paying an ongoing fee for software updates is older than Photoshop, it's just been less common with PC software.  It used to be called "buying maintenance".  And if you have bought the new versions of Photoshop as they have been released  you've paid no less than the current special deal.