6 Replies Latest reply on Feb 12, 2014 3:13 PM by Herbert2001

Grayscale among color

KenWK Level 1

Hello! I do OK in Photoshop but as this question undoubtedly reveals, I'm no expert.

I have book to reproduce with a page that looks like this:

ScreenShot.JPG

The client doesn't want to have to proof read and retypeset everything. The blue text at the top changes colors and is sometimes black. The black text at the bottom, the art lables and the horizontal rules will  be scanned 600 dpi on a document feeder, then straightened and placed in InDesign with a script that will plunk them all on the page and we'll tweak manually to ensure the position is OK. The color and gray scale images in the middle of the page will be done in a separate Photoshop file with no background.

My question comes with the color and gray art in the middle. My first inclination was to have the gray scales separate from the color scans. But is that really necessary from a printing-on-a-press perspective?

Hoping to keep just one image for the color and gray, in Photoshop I've tried cutting the grayscale images from the color to a new file, converting to grayscale and pasting back in to the color image. But instead of being shades of black (as I'd hoped) Photoshop converts them them CMYK values. Is there any way in Photoshop to get the gray scales "converted" to be shades of black within a CMYK image?

Many thanks,

Ken

• 1. Re: Grayscale among color
          DrStrik9 Level 4

To put grayscale images in a color (CMYK) document, copy the grayscale image to a channel (paste in place), invert the channel, load it as a selection, and then on a layer, with only the BLACK channel activated in the channel palette, fill the selection with black. Now all other colors are present (CMY), but the grayscale image only shows up as it should, black only.

• 2. Re: Grayscale among color
            KenWK Level 1