4 Replies Latest reply on Feb 22, 2014 7:08 AM by Tancho321

Is it possible to create a crowd scene from a few characters?

Tancho321

I am new to Premiere Elements 11 but wondered if it is possible to create a crowd scene by using a shot of two or three people and then copying and pasting them into the scene itself. Is this possible in Elements 11 and if so how do I do it please?

Many thanks in advance.

• 1. Re: Is it possible to create a crowd scene from a few characters?
          the_wine_snob Level 9

Welcome to the forum.

It should be *possible*, but will not be easy to accomplish.

The biggest hurdle would be to separate the people cleanly, for the background of the original Video. If they had been shot of greenscreen, or similar, it would be easier. Then, all you would do is Key out the greenscreen, then use the Fixed Effect>Motion>Position, to place duplicates of that Keyed footage over a background - sort of like the Orc hoards in LOR - well, sort of.

Knocking out, or Keying out the background from your Duplicate Clips will be the task, and it might be insurmountable. Now, Adobe After Effects has a great tool for that, the RotoBrush, which even has Content Aware capabilities, in the CC (Creative Cloud) version: http://blogs.adobe.com/aftereffects/2010/04/roto-brush-in-after-effects-cs.html

Maybe others will have ideas for using one of the Keying Effects, or VideoMerge in PrE, but I just see little but problems.

If you could also post a screen-cap from your Clip, so that others can see the background that you are working with, it might be helpful.

Good luck,

Hunt

• 2. Re: Is it possible to create a crowd scene from a few characters?
            Tancho321 Level 1