5 Replies Latest reply on Jun 25, 2006 5:28 PM by Newsgroup_User

Can't set dynamic text in MC via AS

ricklecoat Level 1
      Firstly, I'm VERY new to both Flash and ActionScript, so please bear with me if I ask stupid questions.

I have a very simple button -- the symbol contains just a shape and an (empty) dynamic text box (with the instance name "theText"). I want to place several instances of the button and use AS (attached to Frame 1 of the root timeline) to set the text for each button by targeting the dynamic text box. I placed one instance to start with, but can't even get this one to show text on the button.

The button instance on the stage is called theButton. The dynamic text inside the button symbol is named theText.
      My AS code is attached to Frame 1 and is as follows:

this.theButton.theText.text= "SOMETHING";

This should, to my thinking, give the button the text "SOMETHING" at runtime. But when I test the movie the button is still blank, with no text. What am I doing wrong?
      Many thanks;

Rick
        • 1. Re: Can't set dynamic text in MC via AS
          Level 7
          > this.theButton.theText.text= "SOMETHING";

Change behavior of theButton to movieclip so that you can refer to objects inside of it. Then..

theButton.theText.text = "SOMETHING";

// Lose the "this" part, it is useless here.

tralfaz

• 2. Re: Can't set dynamic text in MC via AS
            ricklecoat Level 1
            tralfaz:
            Thanks very much for that, I hadn't realised that elements inside buttons couldn't be targeted. I wonder why that is? Anyway, rather than just change the button behaviour to MC (which would presumably have stopped it from presenting UP, OVER states etc.) I wrapped the button in a further MC symbol (with the dynamic text now in the mc, not the button itself) and all is well.

Thanks again. As I said, I'm about as newbie as you can get with this stuff, so any and all help is hugely appreciated.
            Rick