2 Replies Latest reply on Feb 16, 2014 4:57 PM by schnate124

Edge animate java help...

schnate124

Hey all, 

Firstly, I'm a designer, not a developer, so bear with the noobness of this post.

I have a little animated banner and I'd like to be able to input some keyboard control of the logo as if it were a game sprite. The symbol is called "invader" and all I want is simple left/right arrow controll to move the symbol. Ultimately I'd like the translation to run a little loop on that symbols timeline too, but right now I'd settle for just getting it to move.

I figured out how to add keyboard input, added to the stage:

if (e.which == 37) {

// do something

}

This works if that something is another EA snipet like get url or whatever. My problem is I have no idea what to do about the position var. Do I add some variables on the symbol or add them to the stage as well?

All the tuts I can find are either too off topic or too complex for me to adapt. Anyone have time to give me a quick lesson? (it's not important so please don't waste too much time with it...)

Cheers.

• 1. Re: Edge animate java help...
          heathrowe Most Valuable Participant

I am not sure what you meanu by the second portion 'translation to run a loop', but for the first portion something like the following in the compositionReady event handler will move the symbol

///////////// copy into compositionReday Event Handler///////////

$(document).bind('keydown', function(e) {

var mysymbol = sym.$("invader");

if (e.keyCode == 37) {  // left arrow

mysymbol.css("left", "-=15");

}

if (e.keyCode == 38) {  // up arrow

mysymbol.css("top", "-=15");

}

if (e.keyCode == 39) {  // right arrow

mysymbol.css("left", "+=15");

}

if (e.keyCode == 40) {  //down arrow

mysymbol.css("top", "+=15");

}

}).bind('keyup', function() {

sym.$("invader").stop();

});

/////////// End Copy ///////////////////////////////////