8 Replies Latest reply on Jun 26, 2006 12:19 PM by Peter Lorent

Problem with EventListener

ricklecoat Level 1
      As I've stated in all my recent posts to this forum, I'm a total newbie at AS and need all the help I can get.

I've got a button (one of several, but I'll concentrate on one for now) and I want to use a Listener in order to have the button click carry out commands. On the advice of another helpful forum user I applied the code (see bottom of message) to the first frame of the movie; I've given it a simple GetURL command as I'm less likely to get that wrong. However, the button does nothing.

(The button instance itself is wrapped inside a movie clip and the MC instance is what appear on the stage; this is so that I can target and change dynamic text, giving each button a different label at runtime.)

If someone can tell me what I'm doing wrong with my Listener code I'd be really grateful; the project is stalled until I resolve this and I'm stumped. I'm sure it's something simple.

Many thanks in advance;
      Rick

Here's the code:

• 1. Re: Problem with EventListener
          Peter Lorent Level 2
          >>(The button instance itself is wrapped inside a movie clip

Then it's a path problem:
          var prodListener:Object = new Object();
          prodListener.click = function(evtObj) {
          getURL(" http://www.sharkattack.co.uk/");
          };
          button_mc.products_btn.addEventListener("click", prodListener);

where button_mc is the instance name of your mc that contains the button.
          • 2. Re: Problem with EventListener
            ricklecoat Level 1
            Thanks for your reply Luigi.