6 Replies Latest reply on Feb 18, 2014 7:41 AM by rob day

Request not to embed ICC profile?

cchute1

The printer for a magazine ad has requested "no embeded ICC profiles in any image" . I'm confused as to how to handle that. Most of my work thus far has been color copies so I'm just getting into the fine gritty details of color management. I've been digging on the web and I'm wondering if this is something that I can manage when creating the pdf or if I need to be managing this with each graphic or simply within Indesign itself.

• 1. Re: Request not to embed ICC profile?
          Willi Adelberger Most Valuable Participant

You have to convert to that color space. That means deliver a PDF/X-1a with the correct color space, not a PDF/X3 where each image has an embedded color space (and could have a different one as the others).

Best practice in InDesign would be, place images always in RGB and convert not before PDF Export to CMYK, and keep values for CMYK.

• 2. Re: Request not to embed ICC profile?
            rob day Adobe Community Professional & MVP

If you set your Color Setting's Color Management Policies to this:

Screen Shot 2014-02-18 at 8.15.05 AM.png

With the Preserve Numbers (Ignore Linked Profiles) policy, all placed CMYK objects will have their profiles ignored and they will be displayed via the document's CMYK profile.

The policies are saved with the document, so for existing documents with different policies leaving Ask When Opening checked will give you the option to change policies when opening an existing document

• 3. Re: Request not to embed ICC profile?

Willi's suggestion of PDF/X-1a is probably what they want—all color in one CMYK space with no profiles. But PDF/X-1a also includes an Output Intent profile and they might not even want that. You also should know what the magazine's CMYK press profile is so you can assign it to your document, and that can be surprisingly difficult to get from many printers