1 Reply Latest reply on Feb 17, 2014 5:10 PM by Mike M

Feedback on Adobe's Term of Use Policy

The Dandy Banterer

Have you ever read the terms of use that you agree with when you install or download something? I'm one of those people who actually go ahead and reads the Terms of Conditions, or Terms of Use before signing anything. Not that it ever matters in most cases, I need the service that I was about to install anyway, but I always like to know what I agree with before I use it. And I’ve been doing it for years with all services that I use.

I'm a Dutch designer and I use Photoshop, Bridge, Illustrator, Reader X, Flash, Flash Player and Premiere. And after the last time I checked the Terms of Use for the Flash Player I feel I had to contact Adobe and give them some much needed feedback. However, if you wish to know the actual feedback you have to read and agree with the Conditions below… No just kidding, let me start off with a short summary.

Short sumary

If you want everyone to use your products please cater your services as simple as possible. That means that you should communicate your service in such a fashion that even those who have little to no experience with legal practices can read your legal documents and understand them.

This requires that you do the following every time you want a user to agree with your Terms of Use:

1. Directly link the user to the right document that they have to agree on, if they have to agree to several documents offer them several links and specifically state that the user agrees with all these documents at the same time.
      2. List all possible languages that your service communicates with in the same document, that way you are always sure that, no matter what, everyone that you cater your services too can read your legal documents.