7 Replies Latest reply on Feb 21, 2014 10:58 PM by PECourtejoie

Opening 20+gb psb files.

Signtek_PG

Hey folks! New to the forum so I will start off by introducing myself. My name is Chris Sawtell. I'm currently a graphic designer at Signtek Prince George BC (Canada). Hokay now that's out of the way I will ask my question. So I like to work on extremely large files (lots of real world textures, smart objects, filters) stuff that really slows a system down. My current specs are as followed:

NVIDIA GeForce GTX 650 Ti BOOST (4gb memory)

32gb of ram

intel i5-3570 (3.4ghz)

WD 1TB harddrive (raid 0 scratch disk)

let me know if you need more specs

So the first day went well, everything was loading super fast, the largest file being 23.8gb. This was loading in about 5-10 minutes which is perfect considering I'm going to be inside that file for the remainder of my work day. The next day things took a left turn and went from super fast to super slow. Loading the file now takes up to 45 minutes to an hour. Saving has also become a burden. Nothing has changed. I currently have 70% of my ram allocated to photoshop. Cache levels set at 5, cache tile size 1024K, and 20 history states. If there is anything that could have caused something to "break" please let me know. On the other side of things, does anyone else work with incredibly large files? If so what do you have your preferences setup at? I apologize if this subject has been overdiscussed, I have yet to browse the forum thoroughly.

Thanks guys!

Chris

• 1. Re: Opening 20+gb psb files.
          Trevor.Dennis Adobe Community Professional (Moderator)

You need a serious Scratch disk arrangment for files that big. 

You mention a 1Tb raid0.  Is that reserved for PS scratch space? 

How many drives in the raid0?

Maybe drop your cache levels a bit (never go less than 2)