5 Replies Latest reply on Feb 24, 2014 9:32 AM by Salah Fadlabi

Changing Text color using eyedropper tool

RS387

Hello all,  I'm fairly new to Indesign.  I had been trucking along changing text color by highlihgting the text, picking the eyedropper tool, and clicking on a color in a photo to change the text body color.  Just recently this has changed. Now when I highlight the text, pick the eyedropper tool, click on a color, it applies the color as a stroke instead of to the text body.  Can anyone please tell me how to reset this variable to go back to the original method of applying the color to the text body?  Any help is greatly appreciated.

• 1. Re: Changing Text color using eyedropper tool
          tman69 Level 3

somehow you have changed from 'fill' (left image) to outline' (right image) that is from solid box to outline box - see attached -click on 'solid box' after tou select text/before you change color

Capture t1.JPG Capture t2.JPG

• 2. Re: Changing Text color using eyedropper tool
            RS387 Level 1

Hello Tman69, I see what you're saying.  In the past I never had to click on "solid box" before changing color.  Fill was set as default.  The color was always applied to the body of the text and not as a stroke.  How do I go back to setting "fill only" as the default? 

• 3. Re: Changing Text color using eyedropper tool
              tman69 Level 3

an existing indesign document 'should' retain the 'fill' or 'stroke' default depending on what is selected when you save the document--and it should open with that setting