7 Replies Latest reply on Mar 3, 2014 8:56 AM by bogiesan

render time taking 1 hour for 4 seconds

LilTunchiB8

I am trying to render a 4 second clip of 3d text doing a 360° turn, I export in H.264 and have okay computer specs.

3.04 GHz Quad core

12 gigs of ram

I'm new to this and want to start exporting more video for a project, but I can't do it with this render time.

Brandon

• 1. Re: render time taking 1 hour for 4 seconds
          bogiesan Level 4

Your problem is the H.264.

Don't render to H.264.

REnder from AE to a conventional, frame-based codec and then use Adobe Media Encoder to transcode to H.264.

• 2. Re: render time taking 1 hour for 4 seconds
            Todd_Kopriva Level 8

That is not at all an unusual render time for 3D, in After Effects or any other 3D application.

See this page for resources about making After Effects work faster: http://adobe.ly/eV2zE7

1 person found this helpful
            • 3. Re: render time taking 1 hour for 4 seconds
              Szalam Adobe Community Professional & MVP

If your 3d text was created with the ray-traced renderer in After Effects (and you don't have an NVIDIA GPU that meets certain criteria), then it will take a long time. If you find yourself doing a lot of this kind of work, I would highly recommend Element 3d. It's a fairly cheap third-party plugin that renders 3d stuff very quickly. Zaxwerks 3d Invigorator is another popular choice.

• 4. Re: render time taking 1 hour for 4 seconds
                LilTunchiB8 Level 1

I have a Nvidia GTX 675M with 2GB GDDR5, I'm almost certain it should be able to process the render. Thank you for the advise on other software!

• 5. Re: render time taking 1 hour for 4 seconds
                  LilTunchiB8 Level 1

What would be a conventional, frame-based codec? Thank you so much for the help!

• 6. Re: render time taking 1 hour for 4 seconds
                    Szalam Adobe Community Professional & MVP

LilTunchiB8 wrote: