8 Replies Latest reply on Mar 9, 2014 10:14 AM by Alp Er Tunga

Camera calibration tab and camera color space

Alp Er Tunga Level 1

Hi, I need a confirmation about the hue and saturation sliders on the camera calibration tab. They are there for fine tuning the camera color space primaries in a DNG profile? Thanks a lot.

• 1. Re: Camera calibration tab and camera color space
          Alp Er Tunga Level 1

As I'm not a programmer, I can not read the source files in the DNG SDK. So, I need help for understanding two points conceptually. Thanks a lot in advance.

1. There is a step in the DNG workflow called "linearization" for constructing 16 bit CFA image from the digital data coming from the sensor. I would like to learn the calculations in this step, a simple numerical example would be very helpful.

2. After demosicing step, we have RGB file with three channels in the camera native space. I would like to learn how we decide the primaries of this camera native space for converting it to the CIEXYZ or CIELAB.

And additionally, which color space ACR uses as PCS, CIEXYZ or CIELAB?

• 2. Re: Camera calibration tab and camera color space
            G.Hoffmann Level 3

Hello, here I'm again.

I'm probably in the wrong forum, because I can't tell you anything about the DNG secrets

(though I have the specs).

About your second question (more an issue for a color science forum), I've found something:

Estimation of the primaries for a digital camera:

Please refer to these docs:

(1)
            Concerning the Calculation of the Color Gamut in a Digital Camera
            Francisco Martínez-Verdú et al.
            http://www.google.de/url?sa=t&rct=j&q=&esrc=s&source=web&cd=2&ved=0CEMQFjAB&url=http%3A%2F %2Frua.ua.es%2Fdspace%2Fbitstream%2F10045%2F973%2F1%2Fproof_final.pdf&ei=uL8UU8-dKYO9ygORs IKADQ&usg=AFQjCNGKNGHQZJoHu_dc2JwQwtLXOpsTBQ&bvm=bv.61965928,d.bGQ&cad=rja
            (2)
            http://docs-hoffmann.de/leastsqu16112006.pdf

Given is an equation