7 Replies Latest reply on Sep 26, 2014 7:19 AM by Gaveille

Is Cirrus the only way to send only small text message ?

Gaveille Level 1

I'm a retired high school teacher and I'm actually developing a small tablet app for helping students in science. The student app is done. But I would like that the app could be use in class and for that, I would like the develop a teacher app. I only want that the teacher app sees who is online and receive feedback of the students progress. The communication needs only to go one way. The teacher app acts like a server. Is it possible to create a server app for tablet or Cirrus is required. If you can help me with that problem. I actually work with Flash CC and adobe Air 4.

Gaetan Veilleux

• 1. Re: Is Cirrus the only way to send only small text message ?
          Michael Thornburgh Adobe Employee

if all of the tablets are on the same wifi network, you could use a serverless RTMFP group to join all of the students together with the teacher app on the LAN.  you could then use group modes (like posting or directed routing) to send messages through the group between the students and the teacher.

the direct answer to your question, though, is that there isn't a "server" function in AIR.  if you need a server, you'll need to use AMS/FMS or Cirrus.

if you aren't familiar with using groups, i encourage you to watch my presentation from MAX 2011:

http://tv.adobe.com/watch/max-2011-develop/advanced-p2p-with-rtmfp-tip s-and-tricks/

• 2. Re: Is Cirrus the only way to send only small text message ?
            Aaron Beall Level 3

Could you use the ServerSocket class?

-Aaron

• 3. Re: Is Cirrus the only way to send only small text message ?

ServerSocket is for TCP. you could use that instead of RTMFP.