13 Replies Latest reply on Mar 25, 2014 1:01 PM by Alp Er Tunga

Linear workspace

Alp Er Tunga Level 1

Is there any negative side effect to use linear workspace with ProPhoto primaries in Ps (as in Lr)?

• 1. Re: Linear workspace
          jdanek Level 4

None that I know of.

• 2. Re: Linear workspace
            Alp Er Tunga Level 1

What about using Rec. 2020 primaries with linear gamma as the RGB workspace in Ps?

Its primaries are in spectral locus and so has a little bit smaller gamut than the ProPhoto, but bigger than AdobeRGB. We will never get ProPhoto printers and displays, but I hope we will all have Rec 2020 displays some day, maybe it will be the next standard after sRGB.

As I'm just printing with my inkjet at my home as a hobbyist, I know I really don't need to think about my present workspace so much.

Just want to learn your thoughts, especially about the disadvantages of using a custom linear workspace, if there is one.

• 3. Re: Linear workspace
              jdanek Level 4

How did you determine "Rec 2020" has a larger gamut than "Adobe RGB", but not as wide as "ProPhoto RGB"?  ProPhoto should not be assigned to your monitor or display.  There are photographic printers that can take advantage of ProPhoto's fairly wide gamut.  I'm not familiar with Rec 2020, where does that come from?  When discussing linearization, linear profiles are built when calibrating a printer and creating a custom profile for the RIP ( where applicable, Wasatch comes to mind ).  Which RGB colorspace you use depends on what type of files you print.  A photographic workflow would definitely benefit from a ProPhoto RGB profile ( application ), as well as the correct Rendering Intent.  If this is a hobby, feel free to experiment along and see how different color settings and profiles affect output.

• 4. Re: Linear workspace
                Alp Er Tunga Level 1

Thanks for your thoughts jdanek.

Rec. 2020 is the specification for UHDTV. Its gamut is in the following figure.