8 Replies Latest reply on Mar 4, 2014 8:11 PM by A.T. Romano

display driver incompatible?

aksfraser27

i have been using premiere elements for about 4 months just fine. and then today when i tried to reopen an ongoing project, i get a message claiming my display driver in not compatible etc., and then it freezes up my computer. why the sudden change and what can i do about it? i already tried windows and intel updates but seems to have had no effect.

• 1. Re: display driver incompatible?
          A.T. Romano Level 7

akasfraser27

What version of Premiere Elements are you using and on what computer operating system is it running?

What video card/graphics card does your computer use? Unless you are using Premiere Elements 10 and the card is NVIDIA GeForce type, go to the web site of the manufacturer of the card and assure that you have the latest version of the card's driver.

Do you have 1 or 2 video cards/graphics cards?

Depending on your details and results, we may end up deleting the BadDrivers.txt file, but more information is needed before we go there.

When do you get this display message...only when you are editing a certain format of video or just by opening a new project with no media yet imported?

Please review, supply the information needed, and then we can decide what next.

Thank you.

ATR

• 2. Re: display driver incompatible?
            aksfraser27 Level 1

i have:

premiere elements 11

windows 7 home premium

Intel Graphics Media Accelerator HD 64MB

DirectX 10

i already checked for updates for both Windows and Intel, they are current.

what i find strange is that it was working fine in the morning, and then in the afternoon when i reopened the program, the problem started... but i was not in a place with WiFi, so it's not as though there could have been a change from outside.

i get the prompt whenever i open the program and it then hangs, freezes and crashes my laptop.

Sent from my iPhone

• 3. Re: display driver incompatible?