4 Replies Latest reply on Mar 4, 2014 8:23 AM by the_wine_snob

On network - works, off network doesn't

EDillard Level 1

My Adobe Premier works on my laptop- when I'm hooked up to the network (ethernet)- but not when I'm offline or hooked up to home WIFI.  By working - I mean I can open up the software to the point where it says open up an existing project or set up a new project.  We're not talking about trying to access a project - yet.

Setup:

- The software is installed on the machine.

- The License for Adobe Suite - (except for Adobe Premier) is a site license

- The License for Adobe Premier is per machine.

- The pathing on the icon all point back to the PC.

i.e. target = "C:\Program Files\Adobe\Adobe Premiere Elements 12\Adobe Premiere Elements 12.exe"

startin = "C:\Program Files\Adobe\Adobe Premiere Elements 12\"

I am a high school teacher - so I hook into the ethernet at school and work on my home wifi when I am trying to figure stuff out and writing assignments.

Platform - DELL PC, windows 7enterprise version, service pack 1, 8 gig ram,  -i7 intel chip.

What error message am I getting

Nothing

What I think might be happening - but I don't know how to work around it.

I think it might be looking to a network location for license information - because the bulk of the

Adobe products are on a site license.  I think when it can't find the .exe just fails to execute further.

• I have tried going under program files and clicking on the .exe file directly - and it still doesn't run if off line.
      • I have tried initiating the .exe file and then unplugging the laptop from the ethernet - this works.
      • I can do this - put the machine in sleepmode -- driving home - hoping my laptop doesn't loose it's charge - and then using it.  Not the best work-around.

Any ideas .... want to work at home sometimes - eat dinner - act like a normal person.

• 1. Re: On network - works, off network doesn't
          the_wine_snob Level 9

EDillard,