6 Replies Latest reply on Mar 5, 2014 12:08 PM by SJRiegel

Proper way to format documents or easy way to fix this?

Buddygurl

I am a beginner in regards to using InDesign to format documents. So far I've had really good success and figuring out how to do things but I've come across a situation that seems way too time consuming to fix. Either I need a different approach in how to create a document or maybe there is an easy way to fix this.

I have a multi-page document with different topics, photos, graphs, etc. I've set up multiple text boxes for each topic and placed photos in their own containers.

I need to add about a half page of content to the 2nd page of the document. However... you can't just "press enter" like you would in Word and have everything move down. Do I have to actually move it all manually myself? It makes it even more difficult by the fact I only have half a page of content to insert, so everything that follows will also need to be separated to maintain consistency.

It wouldn't be much of a big deal if I was inserting an entire page of content because I could just insert a page then.

So... is there an easy way to fix that? Or maybe I should be following a better practice in creating such a document?

• 1. Re: Proper way to format documents or easy way to fix this?
          smellboss Level 1

Pressing Enter or Return won't move graphics down unless they're inline graphics (part of the text flow). I have very little experience with Word; for all I know that's the only way graphics are imported into that program.

• 2. Re: Proper way to format documents or easy way to fix this?
            Buddygurl Level 1

I know they won't.  And I'm not importing from Word either.

I was asking if there is a better "proper" way of setting up your pages in InDesign, so that anytime you want to insert something on page 2 or 3 it affects all the subsequent pages thereafter without having to manual move everything myself.