7 Replies Latest reply on Sep 13, 2014 11:48 AM by Bill Gehrke

Is the GTX 880m 8GB DDR5 GPU worth it?

Cheska

I've been deciding to get a laptop for a few months now and bit the bullet last week to buy an MSI GT70 with a 780m Nvidia GPU with 4GB DDR5. Out of curiosity I was skimming through Ebay going through some laptops when I noticed a brand new listing for another MSI that will be out next Tuesday with the Nvidia 880m that has 8GB of DDR5 vram. You can imagine my frustration. I have heard about the 880m gpu and it having (when I first read about it, rumored) 8GB vram, but I thought it wouldn't be in any quickly available model for at least another month or two. My fault.

Anyway, I am getting the laptop tomorrow, and I am quite happy with everything inside of it otherwise. It has 32GB 1600MHz ram, an i7-4900 CPU, 480GB SSD, two 1TB 7200RPM drives, and the GTX 780m.

My question is will the 880m with the extra 4GB of ram really make a difference? I do a lot of work on Premiere Pro (anywhere between 30 second clips, to four hour videos for events), I use After Effects often, and do a ton of Encore projects. I also render 3D work on the side, although at the present it is not part of my main workload. As far as Cuda cores and the speed, they are almost identical, so it all counts on if the 8GB would actually be used. I am only going to be working on the main laptop screen and a side monitor at the most a majority of the time because I travel and edit more than work on my desktop currently.

Also, would the computer even be able to utilize all of it properly, or would there be any bottlenecks? Thanks!

• 1. Re: Is the GTX 880m 8GB DDR5 GPU worth it?
          ECBowen Most Valuable Participant