6 Replies Latest reply on Mar 12, 2014 9:32 AM by BTRTATZY

Fluid Grid Layouts Link to which Stylesheet

BTRTATZY Level 1

I'm brand new to Fluid Grid Layouts and websiite design so please explain your answers carefully. One of our members told me there should be at least 3 stylesheets when using Fluid Grid Layouts. The first two are automatically created by Adobe CS6 and the advice is do not delete them. My question below relates to the third, custom wide style sheet I created.

• Fluid.css = layout
      • boilerplate.css = browser reset
      • your_custom.css = site wide styles

The question is, how do I get index.html and other pages to follow the styles created in the custom site wide style sheet? I created a 3rd, custom site wide style sheet and even though I linked index.html to that style sheet, it is ignoring the Styles I'm creating in that custom css file.

• 1. Re: Fluid Grid Layouts Link to which Stylesheet
          BenPleysier Adobe Community Professional & MVP

Create an empty my-styles.css file in the css directory and drag the file to below the other css files in code view as per

mine.png

1 person found this helpful
          • 2. Re: Fluid Grid Layouts Link to which Stylesheet
            BTRTATZY Level 1

Ben, maybe I'm missing something in your response but it appears as if you apparently missed the point of my question. I didn't ask how to create a new stylesheet and link it to the index.html file. I already did that. Now I have 3 stylesheets, 2 of which were created by CS6 and the third one created by me.I'm new at this but it seems as if the index.html file is looking at 3 different style sheets but when I change styles in the new sheet  I created, it has no impact on the styles.

How do I get Dreamweaver CS6 to change styles in the file when they're modified in the new stylesheet? I hope this question makes sense.

• 3. Re: Fluid Grid Layouts Link to which Stylesheet
              BenPleysier Adobe Community Professional & MVP