3 Replies Latest reply on Mar 14, 2014 12:58 PM by try67

New to Scripting- need help with a calc field driven off of radio button & value of another field

GSRG

Hello,

I'm new to JavaScripting.  Working in Adobe Acrobat X Pro.  I have a form with two radio buttons "Seller Pays" and "Split Cost".  If "Seller Pays" is clicked, then another form field "Escrow Fee" that will contain a dollar amount based on the amount in a third field, "Price".  The amount in "EscrowFee" will be based on a combination of if/then statements, i.e., If "Price" <=to 100000, then "EscrowFee" is 500......if "Price" is >101000 but <150000, then EscrowFee is 550....etc.etc.  If the "SplitCost" button is clicked, then the figures will be the same as the other button, but split in half.  Been struggling with this trying different ideas for two days.  Any help / ideas would be appreciated.

• 1. Re: New to Scripting- need help with a calc field driven off of radio button & value of another field
          try67 MVP & Adobe Community Professional

You should do this as the custom calculation script of the EscrowFee field. Something like this...

var cost = this.getField("Cost Type").value; // this should be the radio-button group

if (cost=="Off") event.value = ""; // if no radio-button is selected, leave the field empty

else {

var fee = 0;

var price = Number(this.getField("Price").value);

if (price<=100000)

fee = 500;

else if (price>101000 && price<150000)

fee = 550;

// etc.

if (cost=="Split Cost") // split the fee by 2 if "Split Cost" is selected

fee = fee / 2;

event.value = fee;

}

• 2. Re: New to Scripting- need help with a calc field driven off of radio button & value of another field
            GSRG Level 1

Thank you Gilad D.  This got me on the right track, but still having issues.  So to clarify my goal...