5 Replies Latest reply on Mar 14, 2014 10:00 AM by Steve Grisetti

Complete Video Amateur seeks help!

Owegotex

I recently purchased Adobe Premier Elements 12 in an effort to make a DVD for my parents so that they could see their grandchildren's High School play. I recorded the event on a Panasonic HDC-TM90 (AVCHD) camcorder and transferred it to my Gateway desktop running Windows 8.  The show plays back perfectly in Media Player, ( and XBox???- not sure how that even got on there?)  but when I try to play it in Premiere I get perfect audio and (basically) still photos for the video.  Note- I'm not sure what the  (1080/60p) button does on the Camcorder, so I don't know which of those I recorded in, or if it matters. Can anyone advise me what to do? Understand, that (in case you couldn't tell) I'm a true amateur with this, so the plainer the language, the better... Thanks in advance!

• 1. Re: Complete Video Amateur seeks help!
          the_wine_snob Level 9

Welcome to the forum.

The answers to several questions will give us a start on helping you.

1. First, what are the specs. of your Gateway, and especially the speed of the CPU (Central Processing Unit), installed RAM, number of HDD's (Hard Disk Drives), etc.?
          2. When you Import your AVCHD files, and drag them to the Timeline in Expert Mode, do you see a yellowish-orange line above the Clips?
          3. What Project Settings did you, or PrE assign? You can see that from Edit>Project Settings.
          4. You can download and install either of the great media info utilities, MediaInfo, or G-Spot. Just be careful, when installing them, that you do not accept any browser toolbars, etc.. Then, launch either, and drag one of your files to the screen. In MediaInfo, go to Tree View, to see the full details of one of those files - let us know exactly what the specs. of the file are.

That will get us started, and others will likely have a few more questions.

Good luck,

Hunt