4 Replies Latest reply on Mar 17, 2014 3:43 PM by Amy Blankenship

Why is my FPS inconsistent?

ARMANiFiED

God bless, I'm pretty new at Flash so please bear with me; so I am having trouble with an annimation that I initially made on pivot animator and then exported and copied onto Flash. I noticed that when I playback the annimation it is slow and when I try to change the FPS it is not consistent, meaning it changes by itself, for example I put it to the fastest it would go(120 FPS) and I saw it changing as the aninmation played: 9.21 FPS, 8.30 FPS, 10.12 FPS, every frame. Please someone explain what I should do. Thanks.

• 1. Re: Why is my FPS inconsistent?
          kglad Adobe Community Professional & MVP

there's no simple one-step fixes all advice you can be given.  and it's even possible that your animation is so complex that nothing can be done to improve the fps you're seeing.

that said, here is an excerpt from a book i wrote (Flash Game Development) and are the things that help increase fps:

Easiest to Hardest to Implement

1. Do not use Filters.
          2. Always use reverse for-loops and avoid do-loops and avoid while-loops.
          3. Explicitly stop Timers to ready them for gc (garbage collection).
          4. Use weak event listeners and remove listeners.
          5. Strictly type variables whenever possible.
          6. Explicitly disable mouse interactivity when mouse interactivity not needed.
          7. Replace dispatchEvents with callback functions whenever possible.
          8. Stop Sounds to enable Sounds and SoundChannels to be gc'd.
          9. Use the most basic DisplayObject needed.
          10. Always use cacheAsBitmap and cacheAsBitmapMatrix with air apps (i.e., mobile devices).
          11. Reuse Objects whenever possible.
          12. Event.ENTER_FRAME loops: Use different listeners and different listener functions applied to as few DisplayObjects as possible.