5 Replies Latest reply on Jun 24, 2006 8:55 AM by Joaquín Alonso

Write to mySQL database easily?

Dan_Orth
      Hi-
      I am currently a student just having some fun with the Flex beta but as a student I do not have access to powerful corporate networks or data services, etc. I have a lot of great ideas for flex applications for clubs I am in, etc. but they all require reading and writing to mySQL databases. So far I have only been able to find 2 tutorials online about mySQL and Flex and I haven't even been able to get the write part of those to work for some reason.

But my general question is: How easy is it for someone to use Flex (the free versions) to read and write to a mysql database pretty frequently with some things that are a little more than just basics (updating two tables are once for instance)? Is flex better for read only applications for someone in my situation?

I would really appreciate some advice / insight from you more experienced users so I know where to focus my time and energies.

Thank you!
      -Dan
        • 1. Re: Write to mySQL database easily?
          cjwprostar.
          I haven't been using Flex for very long, but I have found it very easy to work with Flex and MySQL using PHP. All I had to do was make a php page with multiple functions that accessed the database and executed a query. In flex, I send an HTTPService request to myPhpPage.php?functionName=myUpdateFunction and send out any other data that the function will need. Then the php function prints out xml containing parts of the results that I needed, and Flex does what it needs to do with the xml.

Hope that helped,
          Chris
          • 2. Re: Write to mySQL database easily?
            Joaquín Alonso
            How difficult or easy to send/obtain data from you data tier depends of the way and how much data at the same time you request or send, I have a couple of examples of Flex 2 + PHP + MySQL and all work great,