3 Replies Latest reply on Mar 27, 2014 5:14 AM by gsbatchwva

Need protected files and a .pdf proof in InDesign

NeverWasBefore

Im fairly new to InDesign and have just completed an announcement and have it saved.  Now, I am wanting to create a .pdf to submit to someone else to look at it, but I dont want them to be able to edit it at all (like a proof).  So, does that mean that I need to first "pack" my files, then flatten it, then create the .pdf?  Ive never done any of these and I am having a hard time understanding what "flatten" actually is.

I know of people who use Photoshop who flatten their work before providing any .pdf or .jpeg files so that others are not able to modify their work.  The other reason I want my work not to be modified is that there are elements in the announcement for which I have purchased from others (they use Photoshop). They have requested that any elements that I have purchased from them be flattened, so that it protects their work (and of course, I want to protect mine as well).

In the mean time, I will continue to search the forums for answers.

Thank you!

Tina

Oh and let me just add this info as well...I have 10 layers.  FYI: i just read some info about flattening in Photoshop (although Im using ID)...keep everything editiable, do a copy merge, combine elements to keep file size low (so you dont have to flatten) and flatten for transparecies. Confused.

• 1. Re: Need protected files and a .pdf proof in InDesign
          Peter Spier Most Valuable Participant (Moderator)

The short version is that anything you publish in any form can be stolen by someone who is determined.

You can send a flattened PDF with security to prevent editing if they are honest, but if you trust the client there's no need to do that.

1 person found this helpful
          • 2. Re: Need protected files and a .pdf proof in InDesign
            NeverWasBefore Level 1

Thanks Peter,