3 Replies Latest reply on Mar 23, 2014 3:05 PM by JasonDD210

CMYK and RGB Question

NeverWasBefore

Hello,

Im fairly new to ID and have been reading a lot of materials on all kinds of subjects that have to do with graphic design and the like.  From what I understand is that RGB is for web design and CMYK is for priting, plain and simple.  But I was looking to purcase a graphic element and this person has them in RGB format and that concerned me. This was her response when I questined her RGB elements...."If you import the the clip art into your CMYK document, your software will automatically convert the colors to CMYK . . .so it that way it won't cause any problems at all. 

What converting the colors will do is possibly dull them, as CMYK has a narrower color range than RGB. 

You're actually the first person that's asked me about that, good call. Most digital designers selling on Etsy use RGB as it works  better with home/business print shop printing -- but I realized it could be an issue for a professional designer and thought it wise to include the RGB info."

So my questions are...

If I want to print my ID creations at home then I should use RGB?

If I print from a local printer or allow my client to print using their local printer, I should provide a .pdf output in CMYK?

What is the best type of printer to use for home printing in RGB (inkjet or laser)?

When I present my work online for others to see, should I be presenting it in RGB or does that matter?  I dont want show it

in vivid color, only for the client to have my work printed and it looks nothing like the online presentation.