5 Replies Latest reply on Mar 25, 2014 7:43 AM by A.T. Romano

Why is playback video quality not as good as the source?

kcarter84095

Hi.  I'm not new to PrE but am new to the forum.

I've been using PrE 2 for about 7 years.  I got a newer computer running Windows 7 and basically was forced to upgrade to PrE 12 because PrE 2 didn't run very well on the newer machine. Once I installed PrE 12, I was eager to jump into my first project on this machine.

I expected that with a newer machine and the latest software, I would get outstanding results--hopefully much better than what I always got with PrE 2 on the old machine.  With PrE 2, it was not uncommon that the imported video seemed lossy on playback or for whatever other reason seemed not as good as the source video.

Unfortunately, the results on the new/new were no better than the old/old.  So I switched to my wife's (even newer) machine running Windows 8 and got the same results.  Then I thought that perhaps the output to DVD would be better than what I saw in the PrE editor.  No dice.

The video quality of the source isn't the greatest (see below), but I expected that the PrE 12 would be no worse.

What went wrong?

Here's what i'm working with on the current project:

Machine 1:

HP EliteBook 8560w

Intel Core i7-2640M 2.8 GHz CPU

Window 7 Enterprise SP1

2 GB RAM

360 GB available HD space

Machine 2:

Dell Inspiron 3521

Intel Pentium 2117U 1.8 GHz CPU

Windows 8 Touchscreen

4 GB RAM

400+ GB available HD space

Video Source:

iPhone 4 video (MOV format)

Thanks for ANY help you can give me.

BTW, I noticed that Steve Grisetti is one of the frequent commenters on this forum.  In case you're reading this, Steve, I want to thank you and Chuck E. for your PrE books.  I purchased one several years ago and found it extremely helpful.  And surprisingly, I found that with PrE 12 I could still use the book that I purchased before because most of it was still relevant to the new software.  Still a great purchase!!