9 Replies Latest reply on Jun 26, 2006 7:56 AM by kglad

help with menu button and movie load

Hello everyone....I am very new to flash and actionscripting and am self taught using mostly web research.
      I am building a site with a menu and a banner that is controlled by the menu (two swf files). I have managed to get them to communicate however, I am stuck at this point.
      When "bt_1" is hit I would like a "mv_1" to load in the banner.swf with is respected intro animation...this I figured out how to do...however now when "bt_2" is clicked I would like play the remainder of the animation of "mv_1" to unload the movie before "mv_2" loads with its respected enterance animation....this I would like to do for several buttons. The method I am using for my local connection is this....

Sending script
      mySender = new LocalConnection();
      on (release) {
      \\ each button has a different param...1,2,3,4,5,6
      _root.mySender.send("menuconnect", "action", 1);
      \\ this is the best way I could figure out to disable the appropriate buttons..there might be a better way??
      home.enabled = false;
      couple.enabled = true;
      events.enabled = true;
      bridal.enabled = true;
      media.enabled = true;
      rsvp.enabled = true;
      }

Recieving script

myReceiver = new LocalConnection();
      myReceiver.action = function(doThis) {
      if (doThis == 1)
      gotoAndPlay(2);
      if (doThis == 2)
      gotoAndPlay(3);
      };
      //and so and soforth for all six buttons
      myReceiver.connect("menuconnect");

If all this makes no sense I'm sorry...I tried my best...
      If some pro out there can understand what I'm trying to do and can help me I would greatly appreciate it....thank-you all

sjs
        • 1. Re: help with menu button and movie load
          kglad Adobe Community Professional & MVP