15 Replies Latest reply on Apr 4, 2014 9:11 AM by Rain4LA

Hard Drive Configuration question....

Rain4LA

Hi,

I just ordered a new custom Qosmio.  It has an i7 4700MQ Processer and 16GB DDR3L 1600MHZ SDRAM.  The Primary HD is a 256GB mSATA SSD.  The second and third HDs are both 500GB HDD (7200rpm, Serial ATA)

I'm looking for the best installation configuration for Premeier Pro on the hard drives for best results regarding speed and efficiency.  Any info would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks for your consideration.  This is a big deal for me and I'm in kind of uncharted waters with multiple hard drives.  This is a big step up.  (I'm not a professional.  This is all hobby related)

• 2. Re: Hard Drive Configuration question....
          JEShort01 Level 4

Sounds like a pretty strong laptop setup!

I suggest doing a RAID 0 of the two HDs and putting most all data files (media, projects, exports) on the RAID. This should give you the best performance for your hardware.

For scratch and cache files you can experiment with trying them first on the boot/OS/programs drive (SSD) vs. the RAID 0 array.

Good luck and please report back your findings for your particular projects.

Regards,

Jim

• 3. Re: Hard Drive Configuration question....
            Rain4LA Level 1

Thanks for your reply.  I'm new to some of this and spent some time learning about RAID 0.  It sounds like a good plan.  I'm just wondering if I can just set it up on Windows 8 when I get my new laptop without any extra software.  Your help is greatly appreciated.

Todd

• 4. Re: Hard Drive Configuration question....
              JEShort01 Level 4

Todd,

You will need Intel's applicaton to set this up (assuming that the RAID ports are Intel); you can download that from your motherboard vendor's site (Toshiba in this case for a Qosmio).

Setting up a RAID 0 array is pretty simple and easy to do unless it is for a boot array.

Regards,

Jim

1 person found this helpful