9 Replies Latest reply on Mar 31, 2014 12:14 PM by A.T. Romano

Constant hangs when adding media

skigh34 Level 1

This is my first attempt at a reasonable sized project in Premiere Elements. I have just moved from using a Mac to using Windows and so far it's been very painful.

I am trying to put together a short video for my daughters birthday, combing the past 10 years video we have of her.

I spent hours on this yesterday and kept getting constant hangs when adding media.

Thinking perhaps some drivers or something were causing issues, I rebuilt the PC from scratch.

Unfortunately it still hangs when I drag and drop new media into the video window.

I have downloaded the latest Premiere Elements update, my version is 12.1 (20140225.12.620828)

I have all the latest WIndows 8.1 updates, the latest graphics driver from AMD and have just run an error check on the disks.

There are two drives in my PC, the boot drive is an SSD one with 193GB free, the data and project disk has 1.51 TB free.

The PC has 16gb memory.

I can now reproduce this every time. I load PE 12, load my project, drag and drop a new clip (which is a 48mb MP4 file which plays fine outside of PE).

The Add Media window pops up, no progress is shown and then PE has hung.

I've rebooted and repeated with no joy.

Please help, I have 2 days to finish the project and am beginning to regret selling my Mac.

Thanks alot,

Greg

• 1. Re: Constant hangs when adding media
          Steve Grisetti Adobe Community Professional

What model of camcorder is this video coming from and what format and resolution is it?

The fact that it's an MP4 doesn't really give us enough information.

Open one of your MP4s in G Spot or Media Info and post its resolution, frame rate and audio and video codec to this forum.

http://www.headbands.com/gspot/

Unless you've got an optimized workflow going, you're going to find yourself struggling with your footage -- even on a very powerful machine.