2 Replies Latest reply on Apr 26, 2014 9:52 AM by wannab0133

Retrieve user from IIS using ISA (TMG)

wannab0133 Level 1

I am writing a coldfusion application that is only accessible through a specific windows server.  The users log into the server using citrix.  The windows server is using a proxy server called ISA or TMG (Threat Management Gateway), which includes all of the web authentication.  This allows the ability to pass Active Directory credentials from TMG to the IIS web server for authentication.  This user credentials system is adequate for our client and we are not wanting to have another credential system within our application.  In order to utilize this authentication system, we only need to retrieve the username.  This system already ensures the user is logged in.  Would I try and retrieve the username from IIS?  Or, is there some way to retrieve the windows username?  The apps I write typically have their own authentication system, so I am new to this and looking fro some guidance.

If anyone has some suggestions on how to proceed in retriving the username I would appreciate the help!

• 1. Re: Retrieve user from IIS using ISA (TMG)
          wannab0133 Level 1

I am writing a coldfusion application that is accessible through a windows 2003 server with IIS 6. The users log into the server using citrix. The windows server is using a proxy server called ISA or TMG (Threat Management Gateway), which includes all of the web authentication. This allows the ability to pass Active Directory credentials from TMG to the IIS web server for authentication. This user credentials system is adequate for our client and we are not wanting to have another credential system within our application. In order to utilize this authentication system, we only need to retrieve the username. This system already ensures the user is logged in. I have been given the advice below to retrieve the username from IIS and it seemed to work, partially.