15 Replies Latest reply on Apr 5, 2014 2:15 PM by A.T. Romano

How do I export a video so I can still edit it in the future and have all data (no compression)

clarkiek Level 1

I am super new to Premiere Elements and video in general so my question is probably a no brainer.  I am taking parts of a video and exporting them out so I can come back later and edit them.  When I try this the dimension is changing even though I'm checking 1080x720.  It's also losing quality.   I'm a wedding photographer (not videoagrapher) and don't know the correct terminology to use.  This is for a family wedding I did where I also experimented with video.  Basically what I would like to do is take the "raw" clips and grab the scenes I want, export them and bring them back at a future time and edit them without losing quality.

I have tried researching this and am so frustrated.  I just can't figure this out.  Thank you in advance to anyone who can point me in the right direction. 

• 1. Re: How do I export a video so I can still edit it in the future and have all data (no compression)
          A.T. Romano Level 7

clarkiek

I am taking parts of a video and exporting them out so I can come back later and edit them.  When I try this the dimension is changing even though I'm checking 1080x720.

Export settings are being overlooked and/or misinterpreted by you. But, let us back up on the concept of what I think that you want to do.

You want to edit smaller portions of a larger project and then combine the edited smaller segments into one grand project.