15 Replies Latest reply on Apr 4, 2014 11:01 AM by NightSkyGuy

calibration

Jackye

I have recently calibrated my monitor. Everything looks good in photoshop, but when I use those photos in my publisher software to make a photobook the colors change dramatically. Can anyone offer any suggestions? I'm a photographer but not the best with computers!

Thanks, Jackye

• 1. Re: calibration
          Curt Y Level 7

Photoshop is a color managed program, while other software may not be.  When it comes to color issues I am over my head.  But generally if you have your image as sRGB that is best as most programs and web assume that is default. 

A little search on web will bring up tons of information on PS and color management.

• 2. Re: calibration
            D Fosse Adobe Community Professional & MVP

What Curt said. Always convert to sRGB for use in any software that isn't color managed. I don't know what you mean by publisher software, but it probably isn't.

• 3. Re: calibration
              Trevor.Dennis Adobe Community Professional

I imagine Publisher is the MS Office page layout app.  I used it for some years before switching to InDesign.  It is Powerpoint that can really get into a tizzy with colours though. 

• 4. Re: calibration
                Jackye Level 1

My publisher is a 'photo' company where you buy photo books or calendars. I tried the shutterfly company and the same thing happened with my pictures, and a few prints I ordered from Costco were awful as well. I did more than a little research on the web, and found it was contradictory and difficult to understand. All this happened once I calibrated the monitor so I'm not sure what to do now.

• 5. Re: calibration

You don't happen to have a wide gamut monitor? Make and model?

• 6. Re: calibration
                    Jackye Level 1

No idea...it's an HP2511x

• 7. Re: calibration

No, that's not it then. That's a standard gamut model.