9 Replies Latest reply on Jun 2, 2007 7:46 AM by Our_Tiny_Servant

The SIMPLEST thing!

Our_Tiny_Servant
      I'm a beginner with Actionscript, but am comfortable with programming in other languages. I am creating a simple interface in Flash 8, and need to include some actionscript that I can apply to a button that will load a movieclip onto the stage from my library into a certain position. I have three buttons, in fact, and I want a movie to load that displays information about that button. Surely putting a movieclip onto the stage is easy?
        • 1. Re: The SIMPLEST thing!
          kglad Adobe Community Professional & MVP
          use the attachMovie() method of the movieclip class.

you'll need to right click on your library movieclip, click linkage, tick export for actionscript, type an id in the appropriate box and click ok.

then you'll need to use that id as the first parameter in attachMovie().
          • 2. Re: The SIMPLEST thing!
            dfm_
            myButton_btn.onPress = function() {
            _root.attachMovie("id", "instanceName", _root.getNextHighestDepth());
            }
            • 3. Re: The SIMPLEST thing!
              Our_Tiny_Servant Level 1
              Hi, thanks for the help. Could you break the code down for me? It doesn't seem to do anything. I have the code you gave me within the on(press) {} code of the button, I have a seperate movie clip on stage with an instance name that I've typed into the code instead of instanceName, and I have a movie clip in my library with linkage ticked and an id. What am I missing?
              • 4. Re: The SIMPLEST thing!
                Rothrock Level 5
                The instance name of your item on stage goes before the onPress. That is the thing you want clicked. Remember, onPress will be when the mouse button goes down, not back up.