16 Replies Latest reply on Aug 31, 2017 6:06 AM by MrMathType

MathType equation issue with indesign

Harsh_vardhan080489

Hi,

I am new to InDesign and MathType, during doing indesign development I faced a very wired kind issue.

I have created EPS file using MathType and try to place in InDesign and after placing that EPS file one of the character get changed.

Following is the Equation created in MathType:

MT.png

and following is the Equation change after placing in InDesign:

ID.png

Much appreciated if you could help me on this issue.

• 1. Re: MathType equation issue with indesign
          Doc Maik Level 4

Indesign placed the EPS without any warning?

Seems like it can't access the font that was used in MathType. Check font substitution dialog for missing fonts. Else try a different export format, for example PDF.

1 person found this helpful
          • 2. Re: MathType equation issue with indesign
            MrMathType Level 2

We have a fairly extensive guide for using MathType with InDesign: http://www.dessci.com/en/support/MathType/works_with.asp#!target=indesign

Some things we have found that help prevent symbol substitution or disappearing symbols:

• When you save the equation to EPS, always use the "EPS/none" format, never "EPS/WMF".
            • I see you're using Windows, but if you're on a Mac, don't use EPS at all. Save the equations as PDF. MathType for Mac has this option; MathType for Windows does not.
            • If you still have problems with symbols disappearing or being substituted, change MathType's Greek and math styles to use Euclid Symbol and Euclid Extra fonts. (This is in MathType's Size > Define dialog.)
            • 3. Re: MathType equation issue with indesign
              Harsh_vardhan080489 Level 1

Thanks for your reply.

When i am placing EPS in InDesign it showing me following warning:

Capture.JPG

• 4. Re: MathType equation issue with indesign
                MrMathType Level 2