16 Replies Latest reply on Apr 8, 2014 3:33 PM by Trevorׅ

Reasons for employer to buy Graphic Designer a Mac over PC

jenlenhart Level 1

I am a graphic designer and just started a new position. My employers are wanting to buy me a new computer.

Currently, I am on a PC and the only programs I have to use are CS5 InDesign (no problem, that's what I've used my whole design career) and CS2 Illustrator (GASP!! I had never even seen this version until I started.)

My preference is very much Mac. What are some solid reasons that I should ask them to buy me a Mac with updated software instead of just a new PC?

I'm the newest and youngest person at my place of work, so I'm really wanting to avoid the whole "young entitled designer" thing.

Any comments would be super helpful!

• 1. Re: Reasons for employer to buy Graphic Designer a Mac over PC
          John Mensinger Adobe Community Professional & MVP

I'm sure the Apple faithful will be along to extole the virtues of Mac, but I have to tell you; if it was my budget to administer, you'd have a hard time justifying the extra expenditure. If the primary tool for your job is Adobe Creative [wildcard], there is no major advantage in buying a Mac, (provided you don't buy into all the silly intangibles). If I outfit you with a new Windows machine, we can continue to run our licensed copy of CS5 until the wheels fall off, and then I'll break out the CS6 numbers I bought 2 years ago. A new Mac would force us to subscribe to Creative Cloud right now. My IT guy may be exposing a weakness in his own skillset, but the reality is he would prefer the shop stays Apple products-free, as would I.

So, my young, entitled designer; tell me why it is that your preference for Mac is so stout...

• 2. Re: Reasons for employer to buy Graphic Designer a Mac over PC
            BeckieBea