3 Replies Latest reply on Apr 8, 2014 2:38 PM by Dirty Budha

Reasons for employer to buy Graphic Designer a Mac over PC

jenlenhart

I am a graphic designer and just started a new position. My employers are wanting to buy me a new computer.

Currently, I am on a PC and the only programs I have to use are CS5 InDesign (no problem, that's what I've used my whole design career) and CS2 Illustrator (GASP!! I had never even seen this version until I started.)

My preference is very much Mac. What are some solid reasons that I should ask them to buy me a Mac with updated software instead of just a new PC?

I'm the newest and youngest person at my place of work, so I'm really wanting to avoid the whole "young entitled designer" thing.

Any comments would be super helpful!

• 1. Re: Reasons for employer to buy Graphic Designer a Mac over PC
          John Waller Adobe Community Professional & MVP

What are some solid reasons that I should ask them to buy me a Mac with updated software instead of just a new PC?

To me, it's personal preference and familiarity these days.

I use both Macs and PCs daily so it makes no difference since the software is, to all intents and purposes, identical on both.

• 2. Re: Reasons for employer to buy Graphic Designer a Mac over PC
            Herbert2001 Level 4

Since Illustrator CS2 will not work on newer Macs you would have to ask your new boss to also invest in a new license of Illustrator. They may not even have CS5 and CS2 licenses for Mac, so that would be another investment in terms of time and money for them.

Then there is the problem of supporting Macs on the network and by a company's network administrator(s): they are often WIndows minded, and have a bit of an aversion to Macs, because it makes their lives more difficult.