Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Accepting any text in text entry box

Explorer ,
May 28, 2007 May 28, 2007

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hello all,

I just started playing around with Captivate last week. I'm an Authorware user at present and just trying out some things to see what I can and can't do in captivate.

The first problem I've come across is in regards to text entry boxes.I'd like to have a place for the learner to input some reflections. There is no right or wrong answer here. I cant' figure out how to do this. Is there a way to set the box to accept any text?

Thank you--and I'll likely be back as I hit more things I can't figure out!
TOPICS
Getting started

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Valorous Hero ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi Noellet and welcome to our community

One way to do this is to think "backwards". By this, I mean that you are actually expecting the user to fail. You want them to enter text that is incorrect and take action on that aspect as if it were correct. So one way to do this is to configure something very unlikely as the comparison text for the Text Entry Box object. Something you would never expect them to type. Then anything else is a failure and the action is carried out appropriately.

One word I like to use is "Boffo". And if you really wanted to ensure that it worked even if they managed to type that word, you could reverse it to "offob".

Hopefully this helps... Rick

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Explorer ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Thank you so much, Rick! And how much fun can I have coming up with unlikely responses? (a lot!).