6 Replies Latest reply on Apr 13, 2014 3:43 PM by Trevor.Dennis

Will Photoshop use 64GB of memory

Jim_Palik Level 1

I am running Windows 7 64bit on an ASUS P9X79 mother board with an Intel i7-3820 processor. Currently I have 16GB memory.

I am a commercial photographer shooting 21 megapixel RAW images. I processses my images in a combination of Lightroom 5x and Photoshop CC. I frequently come close to maxing out my memory. When exporting an image to photoshop that has a lot of Lightroom processing I will see four of the eight threads maxed out.

I have been told that if I turn off Windows paging that the system will run faster. However, I have also been told that if I do this without increasing my memory that I run the risk of frieezing the system if I max out my memory.

The question is, how much memory with the combination of Lightroom and photoshop acutally use?

If I turn of paging, will the system actually use 64GB of memory or will 32GB be enough?

I am also posting this question in the Lightroom forum.

I look forward to your answer?

Jim

• 1. Re: Will Photoshop use 64GB of memory
          D Fosse Adobe Community Professional & MVP

I have that CPU / mobo combination on my work machine, with 32 GB installed.

When you export from Lightroom you should in fact see all eight virtual cores more or less maxed out, like this:

Lr5_taskman2.jpg

But you will also notice that memory usage isn't all that high, only about 7,5 GB. This is from a large export of around a hundred 36MP D800 files, around midway in, so that's about as much memory as it will ever use. It's mostly a CPU-intensive process.

Photoshop alone, however, will gobble up all the memory you can throw at it. The more the better.

But I would strongly advise against disabling the pagefile. That will get you into trouble, and it shouldn't be necessary. Photoshop will use its own pagefile (scratch file in PS terminology) to handle the overhead.