Dedicated community for Japanese speakers
  • 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Difference between the 5 generating outputs using RH10

Apr 14, 2014 Apr 14, 2014

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I have created a Help File using RH10.  I have been asked to find the pros and cons of between the five different generated outputs.  I have searched the forums and have not really found a solid answer.  Can anyone answer this question for me? I am new to RH and the extent of my training is from lynda.com and using the application.

I have been told that FlashHelp and WebHelp are the best options when dealing with multiple users.

Thanks!

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
LEGEND ,
Apr 14, 2014 Apr 14, 2014

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi there

Indeed I can see where it can be very confusing if you aren't all that familiar.

I would agree that WebHelp and FlashHelp are common. Both of these outputs are intended to be copied to and delivered from a web server. With both outputs, the web browser is divided into frames. The top frame has the main toolbar, the left frame presents the TOC or Index or Glossary or Search and the right frame presents the topic content. The main difference between WebHelp and FlashHelp is how the information is presented in the top frame and the left frame. In FlashHelp, Adobe Flash is used and you see subtle animation effects. With WebHelp, it's a collection of HTML pages and images and links.

Another type of output is Microsoft HTML help, This output is created as a single file with a .CHM file extension. You would create this type of file if you want to copy the help system to each PC that will use it instead of having the individual PCs connect to a server to see the help.