4 Replies Latest reply on Apr 17, 2014 8:49 PM by Rick Gerard

Why don't Premier CC Text Layers Translate to After Effects?

doctorsney Level 1

hi there,

when I transform my edit into an after effects composition from the premier timeline the text layers all come over as black solids and the text content is lost.

I don't give two hoots as to your no doubt legitimate technical reasons for this, but the bottom line is that it sucks, it's a waste of my time and effort and it just seems like a simple thing that you should have implemented from the ground up when building the dynamic linking between AE and PR.

Is there an expected timeframe for the issue to be addressed?

Just to explain my typical workflow a little, I'm an editor/motion artist, so it's very frequent I'll lay out all my picture assets and text objects on a video edit timeline alongside vo and music, and once I'm happy with the flow I move the timeline over to Ae to commence animation for tv commercials, political spots, advocacy work, whatever.

Having all my text get lost in the translation feels like a clumsy oversight for what is an otherwise great workflow.

Ta!

• 1. Re: Why don't Premier CC Text Layers Translate to After Effects?
          Andrew Yoole MVP & Adobe Community Professional

You can place a feature request here to suggest such a feature to Adobe. 

They have supplied the feature in reverse quite recently:  you can now create text layers in After Effects comps that are editable within Premiere.

In the meantime, I'd suggest always creating your text in Photoshop.  There's a lot more versatility, and when you move your Premiere project to After Effects you retain all the editability that you have in Photoshop itself.

• 2. Re: Why don't Premier CC Text Layers Translate to After Effects?
            doctorsney Level 1

Thanks for your response Andrew.