5 Replies Latest reply on Aug 23, 2014 10:29 AM by healdprice

CSS3 Animations

I am a developer and I understand that for heavy animations you may need multiple javascript libraries but I think with the rise of CSS3 there should be a option to have a "light" or "CSS Based" Animation Project where it is only CSS3 Animations and Transitions with jQuery. I understand that this is a big change just to have CSS based animations but I think designers should be able to take advantage of new web technologies. I love putting small animations in my websites but they are small and there for I don't want to load anything more on my page than I have to. CSS3 is very capable of many types of animations if used correctly and I think it will increase the use of Animate.

What do you think of having a "CSS Based" Animation?

What would you do?

• 1. Re: CSS3 Animations
          TimJaramillo Level 4

This is quite a fiery topic. Coming from a Flash/JS background, I'm definitely biased on this discussion. In my mind, CSS is a formatting tool, and shouldn't be used for logic/animation. From my biased perspective CSS animations should be limited to button rollover animations.

Here's an interesting article comparing greensock JS to CSS3 animations (I know it's slightly off-topic regarding Edge Animate, but it's good read, and highlights some of the shortcomings of CSS3 animations):

1 person found this helpful
          • 2. Re: CSS3 Animations
            GreenSock Level 1

One more [somewhat biased] article that might be helpful: http://css-tricks.com/myth-busting-css-animations-vs-javascript/