10 Replies Latest reply: Apr 23, 2014 4:01 AM by ryclark RSS

Is Audition 3.0 toast?

jazzereh Community Member

Needed to change my computer - old one was XP so I now have Win7 - and did a reinstall of my Audition 3.0 program and everything was working fine until today.  As of yesteday it worked and today I get a mssg that the serial number is invalid.   After trying a few things I contacted support who suggested I download a 'free' version which I did.  But, both with this free version and with my 3.0 program I cannot either install, uninstall or repair the program.

Two questions - is version 3.0 toast and I need to look elsewhere?

Is there a new version of Audtion that I can't see on the Adobe site?

I have been using Audtion for many years and it did everything I need.  So far I have had no help that is of any use from Adobe support.

Thanks

• 1. Re: Is Audition 3.0 toast?
          ryclark Community Member

See this FAQ about downloading and installation of activation free version of AA3 including how to uninstall previous versions.

http://helpx.adobe.com/x-productkb/policy-pricing/creative-suite-2-activation-end-life.htm l

• 2. Re: Is Audition 3.0 toast?

I tried that before but tried it again just now.  I get a mssg that the installer, when trying to uninstall, terminates without completing the process so I'm back to where I was with the old program still in place.  Do I have a virus?  I considered this also and checked my system with the 3 different anit virus programs that I run with no virus showing up.

• 3. Re: Is Audition 3.0 toast?
              Bob Howes MVP

It might be worth trying the detailed instructions SteveG wrote in this FAQ:  http://forums.adobe.com/message/6184198#6184198

Normally, this is a procedure for where you're re-installing on a HDD that's already had Audition installed but I wonder if you got far enough with one of your failed installations to have some of these issues.

• 4. Re: Is Audition 3.0 toast?