2 Replies Latest reply on Apr 22, 2014 11:49 AM by lloydpdx7

Upgrade a Macbook Pro, or a used Mac Pro?

lloydpdx7

I'm a visual artist expanding my media to include sound and motion, so though I'm very well versed in other software and OSX, I'm overwhelmed right now with how to discern what hardware will serve me best for Premiere/Prelude/AE editing and exports.

Specifically, the issue I'm trying to address is long export/ render times on my Macbook Pro 2012. A 15 minute project took 1.5 hours to export, for example.

Trying to determine if it's best to stick with this, and upgrade HDD to SSD and add external striped RAID, (requiring either a TB hub or esata adapter as I also power a second monitor via TB port.) And where does USB3 fit into this, knowing that it requires some CPU resources that FW and TB do not? RAM is maxed out at 16GB.

Or do I consider a used Mac Pro, and add internal drives and upgrade what else I can?

Of course a third option would be to go with a new mac pro, but at a minimum that's twice what my budget allows for now. I suppose a windows box is a possibility but OSX is so familiar that I'd like to stay with it if I can.

I'm working with Nikon D600 DSLR 1080p mov files, but of course want to allow for growth.

I'm primarily exporting to mp4 @ 1080 0r 720.

Currently adding effects such as gamma, b&c, some basic color correction, and transitions. Might include one adjustment layer.

Up to 3 audio tracks, but often just two at a time.

Still early on the learning curve,

thanks,

Lloyd

Specs:

MBP 9,1 10.9.2 16GB RAM

quad core i7

NVIDIA GT650M

HDD/1 TB 5400rpm

external media HDDs/ OWC Elite 3TB 7200rpm, usb3, fw8, es / OWC mini 5400 via es into usb3

PPCC

Prelude

• 1. Re: Upgrade a Macbook Pro, or a used Mac Pro?
          jasonvp Level 3

lloydpdx7 wrote:

Or do I consider a used Mac Pro, and add internal drives and upgrade what else I can?