3 Replies Latest reply on May 19, 2007 7:43 AM by Shadowhawkserenity

Cast Member Scripts

Shadowhawkserenity
      Hi,
      I'm fairly new to Lingo and trying to put a script onto a cast member that will cause the cast member to switch to a different one. I know how to do this with a sprite script, but I'm hoping to do it with a cast member script instead.

I'm creating a game in which the user pops balloons by clicking on them. I want to attach the script to the cast member instead of the sprite because the cast member will behave the same way every time and I think this will be a more efficient use of lingo. Unfortunately I'm not getting it right and I'm not sure if it can be done. Here is the sprite script that worked:

on mouseDown
      set the memberNum of sprite 1 to 2
      end

Cast member 1 is an image of a balloon
      Cast member 2 is an image of a number 1 (the score increment the user gains by popping the balloon)

the idea is that the score image remains on screen for a brief time (a second or less) and then the user is returned to the game play to click another balloon.

So...all that to ask a simple question: Is there a way to attach that script to the cast member instead of the script?

Thanks,
      Shadowhawk's serenity
        • 1. Re: Cast Member Scripts
          Level 7
          " and I think this will be a more efficient use of lingo. "

No, it will not be a more efficient use of Lingo, but you can indeed attach
          scripts to cast members. Simply right-click (if using Windows) on the cast
          member in the cast window and select the Cast Member Script option from the
          menu.

"Shadowhawkserenity" <webforumsuser@macromedia.com> wrote in message
          news:f2kv6p$386$1@forums.macromedia.com...
          > Hi,
          > I'm fairly new to Lingo and trying to put a script onto a cast member that
          > will cause the cast member to switch to a different one. I know how to do
          > this