3 Replies Latest reply on May 4, 2014 6:20 PM by Marg123

return information about insertion point

Marg123

Okay, I'm really sorry if this question is either obvious or already been asked. I've scoured the forum, but I can't find the answer. That said, I'm not too experienced with InDesign scripting, so I may have seen it and not realized.

Anyway, my problem concerns trying to access the underlying xml structure in a document. Our workflow is such that the typesetter imports XML into a new document, creates a bunch of new styles that correspond to the names of the xml elements, and than maps them. After laying out the document, he then exports the xml for re-use later.

This all works well, but for the fact that inside the post-exported xml we need refrerences to the actual page numbers. I've written a script (a section of which is below, this is VERY beta) that inserts the page number into the text of a text frame so that, when the xml is exported, the page references will travel with it. This works well, except that sometimes the page number is inserted outside the tag. More specifically, this happens when a new paragraph begins a new page (since each paragraph is its own element).

So, my questions boils down to: is it possible to get any information about a particular insertion point? In all the solutions I've attempted (returning the associated xmlElement, returning the paragraph style, moving the insertion point so that it's inside the text) InDesign seems to be ignoring the underlying XMLstructure.

Thanks for an help anyone can provide. Also, feel free to harangue me if the question is unclear. Like I said, I'm pretty new here.

var doc = app.documents.item(0);

var pageCount = doc.pages.length;

// beginning at the end of the document, start looping thorough each page 

for (var j = pageCount-1; j > 0; j--) {

//create temporary frame to hold page number

var tempFrame = doc.pages[j].textFrames.add();

var origPageNumber = tempFrame.parentPage.name;