6 Replies Latest reply: Apr 29, 2014 6:27 PM by A.T. Romano RSS

Video looks pixelated

nattynoo

Hello,

I'm new to using Adobe Premiere Elements - I have version 12. I have captured video from a DV camera (PAL) using a firewire but it looks pixelated when I watch it. I have checked the settings and tried both standard and widescreen settings but it doesn't seem to make a difference. I have captured the same video on iMovie and it looks fine.

I don't want to spend any more time working on the project until I know that I'm using everything on the right settings. Can anyone help with this.

• 1. Re: Video looks pixelated
          John T Smith CommunityMVP

The Elements Tutorial Links Page http://forums.adobe.com/thread/1275830 has a couple of links about project settings... 4th & 5th links at the top

If your project is correct to your video, you will NOT have a red line over the video when first imported

• 2. Re: Video looks pixelated
            A.T. Romano Community Member

nattynoo

Premiere Elements 11 and 12 take over the setting of the project preset which now has a default of NTSC AVCHD Full HD1080i30 or its PAL counterpart. Sometimes it does it right, sometimes not. When not, then you set the project preset yourself manually before you import media into the project.

First, what are the DV data, standard 4:3 or standard widescreen 16:9? Let us assume for now standard widescreen 16:9.

Open Premiere Elements 12 to the Expert workspace. Go to File Menu/New/Project and Change Settings. In Change Settings dialog, change the project preset to PAL DV Widescreen. Before exiting the area, make sure to have a check mark next to "Force Selected Project Setting on This Project". Then back in the Expert workspace, go to Add Media/DV Camcorder and begin your DV Data Capture Firewire into the Premiere Elements 12 Capture Window.

Check out the following Adobe document on the topic.