10 Replies Latest reply on May 4, 2014 9:23 AM by musarticus

Help deciding what software to purchase for animation - Flash or After Effects

Benzy

I have decided to dedicate a large chunk of my time in the coming years to learning how to animate simple 2D animations.

So, for an absolute beginner in animation wishing to accomplish simple (and i use that term lightly) 2D animations, which software is best recommended, Flash or After Effects? I have completed a little research on the matter and the general consensus seems to sway towards AF, but as no query seems to match my situation exactly i'd thought i'd ask here before forking out a small fortune and purchasing one of the two.

This is the level I'd ideally like to achieve:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OUYW0JyzydA

Also, any books that would be of any help would also be appreciated. There are plenty of video tutorials on the net but a book covering all the basics will be necessary i strongly assume.

Any other advice on how to go about learning animation would also be appreciated.

All help is appreciated.

Thanks for your time,

Ben.

• 1. Re: Help deciding what software to purchase for animation - Flash or After Effects
          musarticus Level 2

Well, it seems that many Flash animators have switched to Toon Boom Animate because it is designed specifically for animation. You can't go wrong with After Effects because it's such an amazing application, although it's not really ideal for what you want to do. But if I were to choose between Flash and After Effects it would be a no-brainer: After Effects!

For another, more affordable option, have you looked into Anime Studio Pro? I think you might find this a less expensive, really fun way to get into animation while still being able to achieve professional results.