1 Reply Latest reply on May 8, 2014 1:16 PM by gkaiseril

Insert pdf into a Portfolio via Javascript

Ark619

Hi,

I'm hoping someone can help me, as I am struggling to find an answer for this. Admittedly, I am new to Acrobat JS. I've checked the Adobe Javascript API, and I can't seem to find out how to do it. The only collection methods all relate to fields, and the properties are fields, initialDoc and initialview. I can't seem to see how to add a doc at all.

In my searches, I did find this utility: New Feature added to Joel’s PDF Portfolio Utilities: Version 1.7 – The PDF Developer Junkie Blog 

He does provide an interesting function in javascript: "Combine all open PDF portfolio's"

Checking the source code on that I see the following:

function ADBE_JFG_CombineCollections()

{

//get an array of all of the open documents

var docs = trustedActiveDocs();

if (docs.length > 0)

{

//Create a new empty portfolio

newPortfolio = trustedNewCollection();

//create a thermometer

t = app.thermometer;

t.duration = docs.length;

t.begin();

i=0

//loop through each open document

for each (doc in docs)

{

t.value = i

//if the document is a Portfolio... (we won't add single PDFs)

if (doc.collection)

{

//first add all the fields that we need

for each (f in doc.collection.fields)

{

try

{

newPortfolio.collection.addField({name:f.name, text:f.text, type:f.type});

console.println("Field named "+f.name+" added");

}

catch (err)

{

console.println("Field named "+f.name+" already present.");

}

}

for each (item in doc.dataObjects)

{

t.text = "Inserting file "+item.name;

newPortfolio.createDataObject(item.name, "");

newPortfolio.setDataObjectContents(item.name, doc.getDataObjectContents(item.name));

for each (f in doc.collection.fields)

{

newPortfolio.getDataObject(item.name).setFieldValue(f.name, item.getFieldValue(f.name));

}

}

}

}

}

t.end()

}