1 Reply Latest reply on May 7, 2014 10:14 PM by Rick Gerard

How do I motion track a facehugger?

happyloki

Hi guys, girls, anyone else,

I've made video footage of me shaking around like I have a facehugger on me. I also have a facehugger model in maya. I've heard about motion tracker software and I'm happy to incorporate it, so anyway I was wondering if anyone had any quick tips or advice on getting the facehugger composited correctly onto my face. I was thinking about first attaching the facehugger to a model head and then painting it green to remove in AE later. My main reason for thinking this was that (as well as a front shot) i have a side view shot of me being attacked by it, so in the side shot i don't the legs furthest away showing...

I'm a total newbie to after effects so any help would be appreciated

Thanks

Rory

• 1. Re: How do I motion track a facehugger?
          Rick Gerard Adobe Community Professional & MVP

That's not an easy task, especially for someone just starting out. It involves motion tracking, possibly 3D camera tracking, bringing the motion of the camera into Maya and occluding any parts of the mask that would be hidden by your face, then composite the two together. This is not something that can be covered in a single post. This would be more like a 10 page white paper. Basically, you track the face, import the tracking data into Maya, mimic the lighting in the shot in Maya, and then overlay your rendered mask with your footage.